Day 4 — Dear bro

Dear bro,

It took me a while to write this. Solely because I’ve never written to you. And also, in part, because we’ve only reconnected over the past 5 years or so. So there’s not THAT much to say. But, then again, there is.

I’ll start this off by saying something I don’t think either of us says enough of, if ever – I love you. Not just the “I have to say it because we’re related” kind, because that I wouldn’t. You know that. This is more – “I’d fight the world for you because I love you enough to”. And I want, and need, you to know that.

You are the link in my life that I didn’t know was crucial for the longest time. I absolutely cannot imagine anyone else who will listen to things I have to say and give me a perspective from a family point of view – and not expect me to just take it. You are someone whose realised I am my own person, and that I need to be allowed to spread my wings. I really, and truly, appreciate that.

Through this, I also want you to know that I believe in you. And everything you say and do. It may sound ludicrous at times, but I see where you’re coming from (most of the time, at least!). If there is something you believe in, I’ll stand by your side and fight for it. Not because you’re my brother, but because you deserve to have someone who can see what you see – or at least, tries to. Maybe our folks don’t get it, what you hope they will get someday. But when you need someone to translate into their terms what you’re trying to say about life and all that jazz, you know where to find me. I hope you do.

We may have our differences, but we use those effectively. We may not talk as often as we’d like, but that’s okay. I still cherish you through it all, and always will.

Love,

Me

<3

Tell me what you think!

