Day 3 — Dear Mum and Dad

Dear Mum and Dad,

To start this off, I’d like to say…thank you. Yes, I don’t think I say that enough, but thank you for being the reason I came to exist in this world. And for encouraging two of my greatest passions – writing, and reading. And for being good to both, me and my brother. We may not tell you this, but you should know we love you. A special thanks, just for the library you’ve given me through all the years of my life! You don’t know the joy it has given me!

Mum (or the countless other random names I come up with for you). You are the reason I’ve come to love reading. You have inspired me to be the best version of myself, as you have inspired the innumerable children you have taught. You being a teacher has instilled in me my tendency to want to help people. I probably take it to a whole new level because, well, sometimes I try to help even those that others say can’t be helped.
Our relationship as mother and daughter has been through a lot, and over the years we began living in India, we realised we could be friends too. Talking to you about things that are on my mind, listening to things that are on yours…And trying to give you my point of view through it. Not many people are lucky enough to have that. But, on the other hand, as time goes by, a part of me really wishes you see the changes in me. About life, love, and things that matter to me. I can’t talk to you about them, because they do not match your point of view. Hopefully, someday, this will change. If not, you will (I hope) take it to be a part of the woman I have become, not the little girl you used to know :)

Dad/ Pops/ Acha…You have been a wonderful man to me. Cherished my presence and gave true meaning to the phrase Daddy’s little girl. I have been a social butterfly throughout my life thanks to you. You taught me the importance of friendship, and keeping bonds strong no matter what. You saw potential in some things I said and did, and for that I shall always be grateful. But, on the other hand, you haven’t been that generous with my brother. He deserves more, and one day you will see what I see in him too. Hopefully the long conversations I have with you, fiercely defending him, will have an impact!
I know you hope for certain things for us, and at some point, if they are meant to be – they will be. Just keep the faith :)

To both of you. Whatever differences we all have had, I’m still glad to have you both in my life. We may be dysfunctional in a lot of ways, but we’re learning to work with that. No one knows for sure how dysfunctional we really are, and that is saying something :) We will make it through whatever it is, I hope.

Also, I have some strong views about some things, I know. But that is solely because I am my own person. Whether you agree with them or not, I need to be able to make my own mistakes, so I can learn from them on my own. I genuinely love you both, and I have no reason or intention to hurt you. If I do, I apologise. But I will make my path in life, on my own two feet. And you both shall see, you will have a reason (or many) to be proud of me.

Love,

Me

<3

2 thoughts on “Day 3 — Dear Mum and Dad

Tell me what you think!

